Mogoeng to receive list of new MPs today

Submitted by Tarryn.Josephs on Wed, 05/15/2019 - 06:37
Photo: Flickr

Cape Town - The Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) is expected to hand over the list of nominated members of Parliament and members of provincial legislatures to Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng on Wednesday. 

Mogoeng will then hand over the list to Parliament in preparation for the first sitting that is scheduled for May 22. 

The handover will take place at the Constitutional Court in Johannesburg. 

The Constitution states that there has to be a first sitting of the National Assembly 14 days after the IEC has declared the results of the elections. 

The House may be constituted of no fewer than 350 and no more than 400 members. 

Photo: Flickr